miniheader curriculum


Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Learning and Teaching

Learning and Teaching

mievsquare11Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School is a school registered by the NSW Board of Studies and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board.

The new Australian Curriculum will be implemented in 2014.

Requirements include an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the outcomes of Board of Studies syllabuses in the six Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

As a Catholic School we also teach Religious Education which follows a set syllabus provided by the Catholic Education Office.

The stages of English K-6 are as follows:

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage.  Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage.